Education Loan Default

Default occurs when a student borrower began to make payments on their federal/institutional educational loan/s but has not made a payment for more than 270 days and has not requested deferment. If you are in default, please read the following and then complete the Education Loan Default form.

Illinois Public Act 85-827 requires new University employees to certify whether or not they are in default on a student loan.

  • This must be reported if you are in default for a period of six months or more and in the amount of $600 or more on the repayment of any educational loan guaranteed by the Illinois State Scholarship Commission or made by any Illinois institutions of higher education or any other loan made from public funds for the purpose of financing higher education.
  • If you are in default, you will be asked to provide the name(s) and address(es) of the lending institutions with which you are in default.
  • A state agency is required to terminate employment of any employee who has not made a satisfactory repayment arrangement with the maker or guarantor of the loan(s) prior to completion of the sixth month of employment.